Highlights from the 2018 Annual Delegates' Conference

Over 200 elected Delegates convened in Toronto this week for their annual convention to vote on a variety of policy issues, honour outstanding activists, hear from inspiring speakers, and participate in a number of educational workshops – all with the goal of building a stronger union for our members.  The conference started on Tuesday, December 4, and just ended at noon on December 6.

Our keynote speaker Mary Cathryn Ricker, Minnesota Commissioner of Education and former Executive Vice President of the American Federation of Teachers, gave a talk at Ryerson titled Bargaining for the Common Good. Her address was followed by a sit down chat with journalist Elamin Abdelmahmoud of Buzzfeed. The talk and the Q & A can be heard in the podcasts above.

AMAPCEO was proud to sponsor the event in conjunction with Ted Rogers School of Management’s Centre for Labour Management Relations and the Broadbent Institute.

Chris Harper Re-elected as Treasurer 

AMAPCEO Treasurer Chris Harper was re-elected to a third term. Chris has been active in AMAPCEO since 2007, serving as a health and safety representative, Delegate, Chair of the ADC’s Resolutions Committee, member of the Audit Committee, and Treasurer since 2015.  One of four executive officers, Chris sits on the Board of Directors and its Executive Committee. He recently successfully completed the core Workplace Representative training program. 

Chris has worked for over eleven years as a financial analyst and financial management officer with the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care in Toronto. Congratulations to Chris on his re-election and many thanks to Angela Freeman for putting her name forward to run for Treasurer, and who continues on the Board as Director of the Mowat/Hearst District. 

ADC Committee election results

Members were elected to two important committees at the Annual Delegates’ Conference.  Ottavio Cicconi and Ron Grisbrook were elected to sit on the Elections and Credentials Committee (joining continuing members Bryan CardHarold Haynes and Dane Minns).  In addition, five members were elected to the ADC’s Resolutions Committee:  Lindsay BickfordMaribeth ChristensenAndrew KovarcsikDan Shultz, and Damian Suffoletta.

New Board of Directors sworn in

Executive Director Anthony Pizzino administered the oath of office to the 16 members of the new AMAPCEO Board of Directors, which takes office on January 1, 2019.   

Constitutional and by-law changes

Delegates voted to amend the Constitution and three by-laws to re-name the subdivisions within a District as Communities rather than Chapters. In addition, two changes were made to the Elections Bylaw: the timetable for conducting the Spring nomination and election of Delegates was moved forward by one month (to enable District Executive Committees to hold inaugural meetings earlier), and members elected to fill a permanent Delegate vacancy will serve a full two-year term rather than completing the remaining year of the original term (to avoid having different terms on the same ballot). 

Members Only

Enter your Email Address
Enter your Password
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
7 + 13 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.