Skip to main content

Call for Nominations - University/Toronto South

Publish date: Tuesday, July 14, 2020 update

Nominations are now open for the Board of Director position for the University/Toronto South District. This vacancy is a result of the resignation of the previous Director, Peter Dewar. This by-election is for the remainder of the term which expires December 31, 2021.

Nominations need to be submitted no later than 12 pm (noon) ET on Friday, July 31, 2020 so if you are interested in nominating yourself or someone else, don’t delay!  

Please read the details below for more information.

Nomination Deadline

The deadline by which all nominations must be received by the Chief Returning Officer at the AMAPCEO office is 12 pm (noon) ET on Friday, July 31, 2020. Nominations are to be received by completing the nomination form at

Begin your nomination (must be logged in to view)

Nomination Process

Self-nominations are typical. A candidate may withdraw a nomination at any time in the process. Nominations submitted after the nomination deadline will not be accepted for any reason (including technology failure), so candidates are encouraged not to leave it to someone else to submit their nomination and not to leave your nomination until the last minute. Candidates are required to comply with the campaign rules (By-law #1.)

All candidates are encouraged to submit with their nomination a one-page candidate statement (one side of an 8.5” x 11” sheet) that can be posted on the AMAPCEO website. A link to the statement will also be distributed with an electronic ballot sent to all eligible voters in the District.  

Candidates for Director also entitled to prepare (using their own resources) a 5-minute video or audio recording for posting on the AMAPCEO website. The submission of both the written and video candidate statements is optional, but candidates are encouraged to do so in order to permit voters to learn more about candidates’ views and cast an informed vote.

The deadline for submitting written candidate statements and recordings is the nomination deadline Tuesday, August 4, 2020.

Who Can Participate

To participate in the nomination and election process (as a candidate or voter), you must be a signed-up member in good standing with a home position in an AMAPCEO bargaining unit. To be nominated as a Director, you must have a home position in the District in which you are a candidate for Director.  Those acting in or seconded to an AMAPCEO position with a home position outside the bargaining unit are not eligible to participate.

If you are not sure you have signed an AMAPCEO membership form, please contact the AMAPCEO office (416-595-9000 or 1-888-AMAPCEO or by e-mail at Deduction of membership dues is not, in and of itself, an indication that you are a member; you must also sign a membership form.  It is not too late to fill out and return a membership form, but it must be received no later than the nomination deadline (Friday, July 31, 2020​) if you want to be added to your District’s voters list in time for the upcoming elections.

Election Process 

Candidates for Director will also be offered the opportunity to prepare a 5-minute speech and respond to 3 – 5 questions, with the audio recording posted on the AMAPCEO website for interested voters to listen to. Candidates will be contacted by the committee with further details

If an election is required, an e-mail will be sent to the members in the District containing a link to an online ballot. The electronic voting process is conducted by an independent third-party voting firm, Simply Voting.

More about AMAPCEO and our Members: Established in 1992, AMAPCEO is a bargaining agent that represents 14,000 professional and supervisory public servants, most of whom work directly for the Government of Ontario in every ministry and in a number of agencies, boards and commissions; in 130 communities throughout Ontario and in 12 cities outside Canada. We also represent employees outside the Ontario Public Service in: the Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario; Health Quality Ontario; the Ontario Arts Council; Public Health Ontario; the Waypoint Mental Health Centre in Penetanguishene; and in the former Offices of the Ontario Child Advocate and the French Language Services Commissioner (now part of the Ontario Ombudsman).