Skip to main content

2019 Annual Delegates’ Conference recap

Publish date: Thursday, December 05, 2019 update

AMAPCEO’s Annual Delegates’ Conference (ADC) concluded its three-day conference today. Over 200 Delegates representing each of AMAPCEO’s 12 Districts, 8 bargaining units and a membership base of over 14,000 workers gathered in Toronto at the Sheraton Hotel in downtown Toronto.

Delegates convened to vote on a variety of policy issues, honour outstanding activists, heard from inspiring speakers, and participated in a number of educational workshops.

The theme of this year’s conference is “Strength in Community”. President Dave Bulmer opened the conference by thanking the delegates for placing trust in him and for believing in the strength of our community. He encouraged all delegates to see themselves as leaders in their community, as vanguards for their colleague’s livelihoods but also for workers across Ontario, and everyone who relies on public services.

On the first day, delegates listened to the panel, “For the People – a Midterm Report Card”. Panel participants included Irwin Elman; former Ontario Child Advocate, Jeff Gray, Queen’s Park Correspondence for the Globe and Mail; Caroline Pinto, Managing Principal of Counsel Public Affairs; and moderated by Katrina Miller, Publisher of PressProgress.

Plenary speakers for this year’s conference were Senator Tony Dean, OOnt, and Dr. Cindy Blackstock, OC. Tony Dean spoke on the changing nature and the future of the public service, and Dr. Cindy Blackstock spoke on the history of First Nations child welfare discrimination in Canada. Recordings of the plenary speakers and panels will be available on the AMAPCEO website shortly.


Senator Tony Dean, OOnt and Dr. Cindy Blackstock, OC, speaking at AMAPCEO’s Annual Delegates’ Conference 

New Board of Directors sworn in

Chief Operating Officer Rob Smalley administered the oath of office to 14 of the 16 members of the new AMAPCEO Board of Directors, which takes office on January 1, 2020. 

Back Row - left to right: Cesar Furtado; Chris Harper, Treasurer; Damian Suffoletta; Glynn Robinson, Secretary; Frank Tang; and Peter Dewar. Front Row - left to right: Immaculate Nevis; Larysa Andrusiak; Angela Freeman; Dave Bulmer, President; Cynthia Watt, Vice-President; Kevin Giddings; Maryanna Lewyckyj; and Rocco Fasano. (Absent: Jason Gartshore and Scott Gothard)

ADC Committee election results

Members were elected to two important committees at the Annual Delegates’ Conference.  Bryan Card, Harold Haynes and Nancy Saunders were elected to sit on the Elections and Credentials Committee and three members were elected to the ADC’s Resolutions Committee: Maribeth Christensen, Ani Hovnanian and Dan Shultz.

2019 Activist Award recipients announced

The recipients of this year’s Activist Recognition Awards were announced at the Annual Delegates’ Conference (ADC). This year’s recipients include:

Member Services – Builder Award:
Kathy DeGrace (Eastern Ontario)

Member Services - Outstanding Member Services Award:
Sarah Jeffrey-Hampton (Ferguson/Whitney)

Lifetime Achievement Awards:
David Lockie (Mowat/Hearst)
Linda Poirier (Ferguson/Whitney)
Sophie Georgas (Ferguson/Whitney)


More about AMAPCEO and our Members: Established in 1992, AMAPCEO is a bargaining agent that represents 14,000 professional and supervisory public servants, most of whom work directly for the Government of Ontario in every ministry and in a number of agencies, boards and commissions; in 130 communities throughout Ontario and in 12 cities outside Canada. We also represent employees outside the Ontario Public Service in: the Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario; Health Quality Ontario; the Ontario Arts Council; Public Health Ontario; the Waypoint Mental Health Centre in Penetanguishene; and in the former Offices of the Ontario Child Advocate and the French Language Services Commissioner (now part of the Ontario Ombudsman).