Skip to main content

AMAPCEO Activist Awards


Any AMAPCEO member in good standing may nominate an activist or group that has demonstrated outstanding service in their individual or team role. Assessment and selection will be carried out by the members of the Activist Recognition Committee. Recipient(s) will be announced, and awards presented at this year’s Annual Delegates’ Conference.

Do you have a question about a nomination you would like to submit?  Do you need advice on how to create an excellent award submission?  

Nominations for Activist Awards for 2022 are now closed.

Nominations are divided into three categories:

Nomination packages require at least one testimonial letter.

Are you writing in support of a nomination?

Submit a testimonial letter

See previous AMAPCEO Activist Award recipients

Member Services Awards

Member Services awards fall under the following three categories:

Builder Award

The Builder Award is presented to an AMAPCEO member or group of AMAPCEO members who:

  • creates and sustains the interest and involvement of AMAPCEO members in union activity;
  • personifies AMAPCEO values in all interactions with members and colleagues;
  • demonstrates vision, perseverance, and accountability; and
  • acts as a role model and inspiration to others through their work for AMAPCEO.

Builder Award Nomination Form 

Innovator Award

The Innovator Award is presented to an AMAPCEO member or group of AMAPCEO members who:

  • demonstrates outstanding creativity and entrepreneurial initiative and innovation;
  • delivers results for AMAPCEO;
  • demonstrates vision, perseverance, and accountability; and
  • is collaborative and supportive to build interest and enthusiasm in others.

Innovator Award Nomination Form 

Outstanding Member Services Award

The Outstanding Member Services Award is presented to an AMAPCEO member or group of AMAPCEO members who:

  • goes above and beyond to provide outstanding services to fellow AMAPCEO members;
  • arrives at solutions that show a unique understanding of AMAPCEO values;
  • demonstrates vision, perseverance, and accountability; and
  • works exceptionally well with team members, colleagues, and partners.

Outstanding Member Services Award Nomination Form 

The Gary Gannage Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement

The Gary Gannage Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement is presented to an AMAPCEO member who has distinguished themselves through a lifetime of contributions and dedication to the advancement of the union. 

The award honours a member who has ten or more years of experience as an activist, has not previously received an AMAPCEO Lifetime Achievement Award, and meets one of the following criteria:

  • is at, or near, retirement; and/or
  • is leaving an AMAPCEO position; or
  • is to be recognized posthumously.

The Gary Gannage Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement Nomination Form 

Equity Advocate Award

The Equity Advocate Award is presented to an AMAPCEO member or group of AMAPCEO members who demonstrate(s) an outstanding commitment to advancing AMAPCEO’s Equity Statement through action.

The award honours an AMAPCEO activist or group of AMAPCEO activists who:

  • facilitates, leads, or coordinates equity and diversity activities or causes within or outside of the workplace; and
  • advocates for fairness, transparency, and accessibility; and
  • promotes any of the following:
    • racial equality,
    • disability justice,
    • women’s rights,
    • Indigenous rights,
    • LGBTQ+ equality, and/or
    • justice for other marginalized and/or historically disadvantaged groups.

Innovator Award Nomination Form 

You should receive an electronic receipt of your completed nomination shortly after submitting the online form to the AMAPCEO office.  All information collected is for the sole use of the Activist Recognition Committee members and will not be shared or accessed beyond this process.